National League

Domestic Representation Series | Celtic Challenge | Home Nations | Nationals | League | League Cup & Plate | Welsh Cup for Clubs | World & European Championship Qualifiers

The National League Competition is an annual event and is very popular with the clubs in Wales. Each year the competition is fiercely fought to win the respective league title and, where possible, gain promotion to the next division. Even though there is a competitive element to these games the atmosphere is friendly and enjoyable.

The competition runs weekly, every Wednesday, from late April to August.  Teams will play both home and away fixtures.

The National League is currently the only league affiliated  to the WPA.  However, there is the BIG (Boules in Gwent) League, which is run by a small dedicated committee.  Should you require further information on the BIG League, please do not hesitate to contact us, and we can put you in touch with the organisers.

The 2019 League season commences on 24 April 2019.  22 Teams have entered, a decrease of  2 on 2018, and these have been divided into two Divisions of 7 Teams and one Division of 8 Teams.

Any query regarding League or League Cup/Plate matters should be addressed, in the first instance, to the League Secretary – league_sec [at] welshpetanque [dot] org [dot] uk

The Current League Tables and Fixtures can be viewed by following the links below:

2019 Division 1 Tables & Fixtures

2019 Division 2 Tables & Fixtures

2019 Division 3 Tables & Fixtures

The Fixture List and Contact details of the Team Captains and Vice Captains for each Division can be downloaded by following the links below:

2019 Division 1 Fixtures & Contacts

2019 Division 2 Fixtures & Contacts

2019 Division 3 Fixtures & Contacts

Follow the links below to view and/or download other 2019 League documents

2019 WPA National League & Cup/Plate Rules v1.4

2019 WPA League & Cup/Plate Score Card

Follow this link to submit results of the National League competition directly to the League Secretary:

Submit Results




YearWinnersRunners Up
2019Isca RomansMonkstone Monarchs
2018Isca RomansWenvoe Warriors
2017Monkstone MonarchsIsca Romans
2016Monkstone MonarchsWheatsheaf A
2015Monkstone Inn RoguesMonkstone Inn Dau
2014Monkstone MonarchsWheatsheaf A
2013The Monkstone Inn 1Wheatsheaf A
2012The Monkstone Inn (SHM)Wheatsheaf A
2011Wheatsheaf AWheatsheaf A
2010AbergavennyWheatsheaf A
2009The Monkstone MonarchsWheatsheaf A
2008The Monkstone MonarchsWheatsheaf A
2007The Monkstone MonarchsAbergavenny
2006The Monkstone MonarchsWenvoe Raiders
2005Panteg 1Penarth Pendragons
2004The Monkstone MonarchsPanteg In Shops
2003The Monkstone ConsPenarth Pendragons
2002Panteg In ShopsPenarth Pendragons
2001Panteg PhoenixPanteg 1
2000Rumney ConsPanteg In Shops


YearWinnersRunners Up
2019Wenvoe RaidersPontyclun Badgers
2018MaestegMonkstone Inn Un
2017Wenvoe RaidersPenarth Pendragons
2016Monkstone MinotaursPontyclun Badgers
2015Wheatsheaf TooMonkstone Inn Youth
2014Pontyclun BadgersMonkstone Minotaurs
2013Monkstone Inn 2Wheatsheaf Squirrels
2012Monkstone MonarchsCaerleon Celts
2011Sir Henry MorganBarnstormers
2010Wenvoe 2Wenvoe Dragons
2009Wheatsheaf SquirrelsCaerleon Celts
2008Monkstone MaraudersIsca Romans
2007The WheatsheafPanteg 2
2005Barns Wallace Wenvoe Raiders
2003Wenvoe 2Wenvoe
2002Panteg 3Wenvoe 2
2001Monkstone Monarchs Rumney Cons 2
2000Phoenix 2Panteg House 1


2019Monkstone MaraudersPenarth Panthers
2018CwinsPontyclun Cubs
2017MaestegCaerleon Celts
2016Monkstone MaraudersCreigiau Jaques