World Championship, Ghent 2017 – Qualification Process

afficheThe second World Singles Championship and first World Championship for Doubles and Mixed Doubles will be held in Ghent, Belgium between 13th and 16th April 2017.

The WPA Executive has agreed that there will be a qualifying process for finding the four WPA players to be invited to represent Wales at this event.

Full details of the qualification process can be download by following this link.

Due to the tight deadlines set by the organising Federation, the following deadlines have been set:

1 – 23rd December 2016 – The WPA must notify the organising Federation of our intention to take part in the championship.

2 – 31st January 2017 – The WPA must notify the organising Federation of the names of the Welsh Squad and Officials .

The qualification process will take place over a period of 3 days, over two weekends in January 2017, every player will take part in the following:

  • Singles competition (Men and Women)
  • Double competition (Men and Women)
  • Shooting competition (Men and Women)

There is no Mixed-doubles competition in the qualifier and the doubles element are same gender matches.

The dates for the qualifying events are as follows:

  • Saturday 14th January 2017: Singles (Rounds 1 to 6)
  • Sunday 15th January 2017: Singles (Round 7 plus) and Shooting (Round 1)
  • Sunday 22nd January 2017: Doubles plus Shooting (Round 2)

Registration for the qualification series will be open to current WPA members until 18:00 hours on Sunday 18th December 2016, for non-mixed (Male/Male and Female/Female) doubles teams who need to register using the online form below.

The entry fee for this qualification series is £15 per player.

The following players have registered.

Club Player 1 Player 2
Wenvoe PC Bob Pugh Peter Westall
Pontyclun PC Peter Beresford Derek Jones
Monkstone PC Phil Bradshaw Nai Kongchun
Penarth PC/Monkstone PC J-Y Robic Tony Smith
Caerleon RFC PC/Monkstone Inn PC Kon Tomczyk Ian Bailey
Cardiff Bay/Wheatsheaf PC Dan Murphy Robert White
Pontyclun PC Len Field Jeremy Clare
Penarth PC/Pontyclun PC David Elston Kevin Edwards
Monkstone PC Peter Kensitt John Mahoney
Caerleon RFC PC Paul Mayfield Ray Williams
Caerleon RFC/Wheatsheaf PC Tansy Mayfield Gemma Foster
Pontyclun PC Marie Jones Keth Attfield
Penarth PC Valérie Falconer Pat McCarthy
Monkstone PC Vicki Adshead Rose Fiera
Monkstone Inn PC/Wheatsheaf PC Gay Evans Jill Brace
Penarth PC Celia Scott Phillipa Jayne Dunn

A minimum of 6 male and 6 female entrants is required in order to run a meaningful qualifier. If this number is not reached the qualifiers will be cancelled and Wales will not enter the competition.