National Doubles Championship: Men & Women

Caerleon Petanque Club recently held the Nations Doubles Championship for both Men and Women on Sunday, 12th May. Ten Men’s and eight Women’s teams originally registered. Unfortunately, one team reduced the women’s entries on the day, which changed the competition format.

NC Doubles: Women

The Women’s Championship competition format was a round-robin, so each team played each other throughout the day, resulting in 42 completed games.

The full results are tabulated below:

Congratulations to everyone who participated in the day’s competitions, especially to Gemma Foster and Tansy Mayfield (Caerleon PC), who won all six games and are the WPA National Doubles Champions: Women for 2024.

2024 National Women’s Doubles Champions – Gemma Foster and Tansy Mayfield.

NC Doubles: Men

Running in parallel with the Women’s Doubles were the Men’s Doubles. This occurred in two stages; the first was a qualification round where each team played three timed games, the results of which were to rank the teams from 1 to 10.

The top six teams automatically qualified for the quarter-finals of the championship. However, the bottom four teams played an additional round, the winners of which made it through to the quarter-finals, while the two losing teams were exited from the competition.

An electrical storm and serious rainfall interrupted the quarter-final, flooding the playing area and delaying the competition. This also affected the playing surface, which several teams struggled with until the storm was very dry. However, several teams could pull back and change the result with the change.

The two top teams from the qualification round made it to the final: Jean-Yves Robic and Len Field from SWBRC-PS, Richard Harris, and Kon Tomczyk from Caerleon RFC PC. Could Richard and Kon make it a Caerleon double?

The final was evenly matched throughout, with each team taking the lead at various stages. However, Jean-Yves Robic and Len Field won all their games and are the WPA National Doubles Champions: Men for 2024.

2024 National Men’s Doubles Champions – Jean-Yves Robic and Len Field.

Runners-up – Kon Tomczyk and Richard Harris.