National Doubles Weekend

The National Doubles Weekend occurred at Caerleon RFC PC on Saturday 2nd and Sunday 3rd July.

On Saturday, the competition got off to a damp start. Twelve doubles teams were drawn into three groups of four, and the top two teams from each group progressed to the Championship. The best two teams from the remaining six teams also progressed to the Championship. The remaining four teams played in the Plate Competition.


The quarter-finals of the Championship brought a good mix of partnerships together who competed competitively to progress on to the semi-finals. The first semi-final saw the experienced duo of Scott Murray & Len Field (SWBRC PS – Sully) drawing against regular BIG League players Chris James & Steve Griffiths, who played well to get to this stage. However, experience paid off, and the SWBRC PS duo won a place in the final.

The second semi-final was between J-Y Robic & Ian Bailey and a new pairing of Steve Snudden (Caerleon RFC PC) & Sean Smith (Monkstone PC). Both teams are very experienced, and both teams closely fought the encounter. However, a costly mistake cost the SWBRC PS the match and their place in the final.

The final between Scott Murray & Len Field and Steve Snudden & Sean Smith was another closely fought encounter and could have gone either way, but a brilliant shot by Sean Smith sealed the game 13/11 and the Championship title.

National Doubles Champions Steve Snudden (Caerleon RFC PC) & Sean Smith (Monkstone PC) National Doubles Championship finalists Steve Snudden (Caerleon RFC PC) & Sean Smith (Monkstone PC) and Len Field & Scott Murray (SWBRC PS)


At the same time that the Championship was taking place, the Plate competition was coming to a conclusion. Due to the number of entries, there were only four teams competing. The final was between Gemma Foster & Tansy Mayfield (Caerleon RFC PC) and Dave Sharratt & Roger Morgan (Wheatsheaf PC) after a closely competitive encounter Gemma Foster & Tansy Mayfield took the match 13/11.

Plate Winners – Gemma Foster & Tansy Mayfield
(Caerleon RFC PC).
Plate Runners-Up – Dave Sharrett & Roger Morgan (Wheatsheaf PC).