President’s Novice Cup – Results

The President’s Novice Cup was held at Caerleon Petanque Club on Saturday, March 23rd. The Executive would like to thank the Committee and club members for making their facilities available.

Seven triple teams from Caerleon, Colwinston, Monkstone, Pontyclun, Twyn-Y-Fwrd, and Ystradowen Petanque Clubs participated in a reduced format competition.

For many players, this was the first time they had played in a competition outside of their clubs, so the event was primarily about having fun but also about understanding and learning a little more about what to expect from an organised WPA event.

Unfortunately, a bye was necessary because of the number of teams that had entered.

The final results after three rounds were:

The winners of the President’s Novice Cup are Kym Jeffrey/Andrew Bond/James Fackrell
Twyn-Y-Fwrd Petanque Club.
2nd Place President’s Novice Cup: Brian Bibb/Jeremy Symons/Andrew Maclehose
Colwinstone Petanque Club.
3rd Place President’s Novice Cup: Cara Bastow/George Hill/Richard Edwards
Twyn-Y-Fwrd Petanque Club.
4th Place President’s Novice Cup: Claude Le Razavet/John Griffiths/Jonathan Giddy
Monkstone Petanque Club
Congratulations, and a big thank you to everyone who participated in the 2024 President’s Novice Cup.