News update

The WPA Executive was informed yesterday by the President Mr Dan Murphy that he has resigned from his position as WPA President and that he has terminated his membership of the WPA with immediate effect. I’m sure the Executive and members want to thank Dan for the contribution he has made to the WPA over many years and wish him well for the future.

Nations Veteran Cup 2018

Nations Veteran Cup 2018

Pob lwc i’r ddau yng Nghymru dimau o Monkstone a Gwenfô yn cymryd rhan mewn cwpan cenhedloedd y cyn-filwr yn yr Iseldiroedd y penwythnos hwn.

Good luck to the two Welsh teams from Monkstone and Wenvoe taking part in the Nations Veteran Cup in the Netherlands this weekend.

WPA Ladies Qualifying 2018

Women’s Welsh International Squad Qualifier 2018


All players wishing to represent Wales at EC level in 2018 are invited to attend Assessment Days on:

Sat 21st April at Caerleon RFC PC 10.00 am

Sat 19th May at Venue TBC 10.00 am

Sat 16th June at Venue TBC 10.00 am

Sat 14th July at Venue TBC 10.00 am

The assessment will consist of:

Landing Spots

Pointing Open

Pointing With Obstacle


 Points will be awarded in each discipline:

These points will be accumulated from each discipline for that round and players ranked accordingly. 

Once ranked the players will be awarded an overall score for that round :

1st 20 pts

2nd 19 pts

3rd 18 pts etc

The points from each round will be accumulated and the players given an overall ranking position

There are 4 qualifier events and players will be able to select their best 3 results from these rounds.

The top 4 players will form the Welsh squad with players in 5th & 6th position as reserves

Players will be expected to sign an expression of interest form to demonstrate their commitment to playing in the Welsh National Team.

Please email development [at] welshpetanque [dot] org [dot] uk if you intend to take part 

There is no entry fee for this qualification series 

WPA Home Nations 2018 Qualifying

2018 Home Nations Championships Qualifier


This year’s Home Nations Championships Qualifier’s are to be held at

 Grand Prix 1 – Monkstone PC – Saturday – 28th April

Grand Prix 2 – Abergavenny PC – Sunday 29th April

Registration is 9.00 – 9.30


The Top Eight Teams Will Be Expected To Represent Wales (3 or 4 players)

In The Home Nations Championships

In JERSEY o4th & 5th of August 2018

Please email your entry to  

development [at] welshpetanque [dot] org [dot] uk

Payment can be made on the day

Closing date is Wednesday 25th April 2018

Entry Fee is £7 per Player in each team

2018 League Season

The 2018 League Season will start on Wednesday 25 April 2018. All 22 teams from last year have entered the league again and we welcome two new teams – Pontyclun Cubs and a special welcome to a new club from the Church Inn in Llanishen who have entered a team.

Last season we had 2 divisions of 7 teams and 1 of 8 teams but with the extra 2 teams we will now have 3 divisions, each with 8 teams. In order to accommodate the new teams in the 3rd Division, three teams will be promoted from Division 2 to Division 1 and 4 teams will be promoted from Division 3 to Division 2,

The revised Division results are:

1st Division

Champions  Monkstone Monarchs
Relegated Monkstone Inn Un
Pontyclun Badgers

2nd Division

Promoted Wenvoe Raiders
Penarth Pendragons
Wenvoe Raiders
Relegated Monkstone Musketeers
Monkstone Inn Youth

3rd Division

Promoted Maesteg
Caerleon Celts
Barns Wallace
Criegiau Crusaders
 New Teams Pontyclun Cubs
Church Inn


The 2018 Fixture Lists are now available on the National League page and the format of the Cup/Plate is shown on the League Cup/Plate page. The draw for the League Cup/Plate competition will take place at the Pontyclun Triples on 8 April 2018.

Vickie Adshead

League Secretary


Monkstone Open Doubles – 15 April 2018

The annual Monkstone PC Open Doubles will take place at the Club on Sunday 15 April 2018.

The Prize Pot will depend on the number of entries but will be a GUARANTEED  MINIMUM of £100.

Entry Fee is £10 per team.

Registration will be between 8:30am and 9:00am for a 9:30am start.

The Club bar will be open at lunch time.

Entries are limited to 32 teams.

Entries to be made through the Monkstone PC Web Site here. Click on 2018 Open Competitions in the right hand menu on the Club website

Other upcoming events at Monkstone PC

Quiz Night – 11 May 2018 -This is a quiz with a difference – you will have to come to find out what its all about. Cost £6 per person to include a chilli supper. Maximum 6 people in a team.

We’ve already started to get bookings. Teams are a maximum of six persons, so why not get a team together by inviting your friends.

To book your place see Judith at the Club or email her on   welhamsmith [at] hotmail [dot] com as soon as possible.

Monkstone Open Triples – 13 May 2018 – Further details to follow but entries are open on the Club website as per the Open Doubles

Presidents Cup Champions 2018

Presidents Cup Champions

The Presidents Cup was held at the Wheatsheaf Petanque Club this weekend. A big thank you to our hosts and the wonderful landlady Marjorie Powell at the Wheatsheaf Inn, Llanhennock for hosting the event and making it a great day out.

The competition started and finished in the lovely sunshine. It was great to see some new faces playing for the first time in WPA competitions and mixing these with some returning old faces.

In the end the returning faces won out with Judith Morgan, Steve and Gill Brave winning all their 6 matches in the day and beating off all opposition.

Congratulations Judith, Steve and Gill on being the 2018 Presidents Cup Champions.

President Cup Winners 2018

President Cup Runners up 2018Some photos of the day

1 2 3 17