Playing Calendar

All WPA events are closed to non-WPA members. Players seeking to qualify to play for Wales must be paid up members of the WPA and meet any other criteria set by the WPA.

A printable version of the Playing Calendar can be downloaded as a PDF, using the link below. (Please note some dates and venues may change).

NOTE: Venues for some events still need to be confirmed, these will be added as we confirm them.

2021 Playing Calendar (updated 1 June 2021)

*PLEASE NOTE: THE 2021 CALENDAR IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE.


Coming up:

WPA Events:

June:

Assessment Day (Saturday 5th June)   [Pontyclun RFC]
Assessment Day (Sunday 6th June)   [Pontyclun RFC]
Qualifier – PE Inter-Regionals 2021 (Sunday 13th June)   [TBC]

August:

National Doubles: Men (Sunday 1st August)   [VENUE TBC]
National Doubles: Mixed (Sunday 8th August)   [VENUE TBC]
Cup & Plate Finals (Sunday 22nd August)   [VENUE TBC]

September:

National Triples: Women & Men (Sunday 12th September)  [VENUE TBC]
League V B.I.G. League (Sunday 19th September)   [VENUE TBC]

October:

Qualifier – Celtic Challenge 2022 (SCOTLAND) (Saturday 2nd October)   [VENUE TBC]
Qualifier – Celtic Challenge 2022 (SCOTLAND) (Sunday 3rd October)   [VENUE TBC]
National Triples: Veterans – Mixed (Sunday 17th October)   [VENUE TBC]
National Precision Shooting: Women & Men (Sunday 24th October)   [VENUE TBC]
Stuart Clarke Cup (Sunday 31st October)   [VENUE TBC]

November:

WPA National Singles: Women & Men (Sunday 7th November)   [VENUE TBC]


Club Events:

June:

Monkstone Open Doubles (Sunday 20th June)   [Monkstone PC]
Colin Ballett Open Doubles (Saturday 26th June)   [SWBRC-PS]
Colin Ballett Open Doubles (Sunday 27th June)   [SWBRC-PS]

July:

Austin Jones Charity Open Triples (Sunday 4th July)   [Brecon RFC]
Caerleon RFC PC Bastille Day Melee (Saturday 10th July)   [Caerleon RFC]
Caerleon RFC Open Triple (Sunday 11th July)   [Caerleon RFC]
SWBRC-PS Open Singles: Women (Sunday 16th July)   [SWBRC-PS]
Pontyclun Open Triples (Sunday 25th July)   [Pontyclun RFC]

August:

SWBRC-PS Open Singles: Men (Saturday 14th August)   [SWBRC-PS]
SWBRC-PS Open Singles: Men (Sunday 15th August)   [SWBRC-PS]
Wenvoe Welsh Open Triples (Sunday 29th August)   [Dinas Powys Athletic Club]

September:

SWBRC-PS Open Doubles: Women (Sunday 10th October)   [SWBRC-PS]

October:


Other Events:

July:

Piste Challenge Cup Saturday 17th & Sunday 18th July ENTRY NOW OPEN!

Its official, entry for the Piste Challenge Cup is now open. You can find all the event information, including how to enter via the app Piste. https://pistepetanque.app/events

Triples on Saturday, Doubles on Sunday. Play one event or both, it’s up to you.

Held at PNW’s Flagship venue, John Street PC,

September:

Friday 3 – Sunday 5 Petanque England’s Inter-Regional Championship and Challenge Cup: Triples [Melton Mowbray]


International Dates 2021

September:

Sunday 19 – Tuesday 21CEP European Championships: VETERANS [Albertville, France]
Thursday 23 – Sunday 26CEP European Championships: MEN [Albertville, France]

November/December:

Dates TBCFIPJP World Championships: WOMEN [Thailand]

December:

Thursday 2 – Sunday 5CEP European Cup for Clubs [Saint Yrieix, France]


 

To print out details of the Playing Calendar, select the Print icon. A dialog box will open which will allow you to select the period that you require a print out for, and also the choice of having it in colour or B&W.

If your club is intending to hold a competition and you would like it advertised here, then follow this link to complete our on-line form with all the event details.


Other non-WPA Events

 

These events are not WPA events and as such you may need to take out a separate insurance policy.