Home Nations Championship

The Grand Prix Series | Ladies Triples | Celtic Challenge | Home Nations | Nationals | League | League Cup | Welsh Cup for Clubs

ass_logosThe first Home Nations Championship took place in the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff in 2000. The English Pétanque Association won the inaugural championship and have successfully defended their title since.

This years Home Nations Championship was hosted by the Scottish Pétanque Association (SPA) at the Inverlieth Petanque Club, Edinburgh over the weekend of 6th and 7th August.

I would like to congratulate all Welsh players and teams who recently competed in the 2016 Home Nations in Scotland for their very good second place in front of Jersey and Scotland.

After a poor start, it was good to see all teams trying their best during the Saturday and assuring a narrow 2nd place, 5 games in front of Jersey at the mid-point of the competition. A target of 46 to 55 wins was set on the Sunday morning and was achieved by the end of play on the Sunday with Wales securing the 2nd place with 48 wins behind comfortable winner England.

This results exceeded my expectations and I would like to thanks all WPA players for their excellent performance.

Jean-Yves Robic
Director of Development


Follow this link to down load a copy of the 2016 Result Summary

The 2016 Welsh Squad travelling to Scotland were:

Wales 1 Phil Bradshaw Ian Bailey Derek Jones  
Wales 2 Jean-Yves   Robic Tony Smith Nai Kongchun  
Wales 3 Gemma Foster Jake Caston Bob Pugh Peter Westall
Wales 4 Tansy Mayfield Kon Tomczyk Paul Mayfield Barbara Vaughan
Wales 5 Dai Cannan Ken Aston Jeff Ball Mike Jacques
Wales 6 Basil White Dan Murphy Andrew Pook  
Wales 7 Gay Evans Julie Bailey Rose Fiera Vickie Adshead
Wales 8 Roger Griffin Mike Jones Bernard Adshead Peredur John