World Championships

World Championships | European Championships | Home Nations Championship | Celtic Challenge |

The Pétanque World Championship was first contested in 1959 and from 2010 the World Championship has been limited to 48 countries and held every two years.  The qualifying competition for the World Championship is now the European Championship, organised by the European Governing body, the Confédération Européenne de Pétanque (CEP).

In 2012 the World Championship was changed from an open class (mixed sex) to male teams only.

World Championships organised by the FIPJP are run over a two-year cycle. In the even-numbered years the following Championship takes place:

  • Triples: Men and Precision Shooting.

In odd-numbered years the following Championships take place:

  • Singles, Doubles, Mixed Doubles: Men and Women.
  • Triples: Juniors and Precision Shooting.
  • Triples: Women and Precision Shooting.

The Teams representing Wales are entirely self-funded and are extremely grateful to all those who so kindly provided sponsorship or made donations. 

If you or your business is interested in sponsoring the Welsh Squad, then please contact a member of the current WPA Executive.

2021SwitzerlandTriples: Men
2020SwitzerlandTriples: MenNOT HELD COVID-19
2019CambodiaTriples: WomenNO TEAM
2019SpainSingles: WomenG Foster
2019SpainSingles: MenM Howells
2019SpainDoubles: WomenG FosterT Mayfield
2019SpainDoubles: MenR HarrisM Howells
2019SpainDoubles: MixedT MayfieldR Harris
2017BelgiumSingles: WomenG Foster
2017BelgiumSingles: MenP Bradshaw
2017BelgiumDoubles: WomenG EvansG Foster
2017BelgiumDoubles: MenP BradshawI Bailey
2017BelgiumDoubles: MixedG EvansI Bailey
2015FranceSingles: MenJ Caston
2013FranceWomenJ BaileyG FosterT MayfieldG Evans
2011TurkeyWomenB VaughanG FosterJ BraceG Evans
2010TurkeyMenM FranksP BradshawN DobbinsC Royer
2009ThailandWomenB VaughanG FosterJ BraceG Evans
2009TunisiaJuniorS Lipetz-RobicJ Lipetz-RobicRhydian LeeKatie Gregory
2008SenegalMenD JonesD ElstonP WestallT Smith

The World Championship in Precision Shooting started in 2000 and has been contested at every World Championship since.

2020World ChampionshipNOT HELD COVID-19
2020European ChampionshipNOT HELD COVID-19
2019European ChampionshipNOT ENTERED (P Westall)
2018European ChampionshipG Foster
2017European ChampionshipP Westall
2016European ChampionshipG Foster
2015European ChampionshipP Westall
2014European ChampionshipG Evans
2013World ChampionshipG Evans
2013European ChampionshipI Bailey
2012European ChampionshipT Mayfield
2011World ChampionshipJ Brace
2011European ChampionshipN Dobbins
2010World ChampionshipN Dobbins
2010European ChampionshipB Demay
2009World Championship - WomenJ Brace
2009World Championship - JuniorR Lee
2009European ChampionshipN Dobbins
2008World ChampionshipD Jones


World Championships | European Championships | Home Nations Championship | Celtic Challenge |