CEP European Championships


European Championships for all categories are held every two years and organised by the European governing body, the Confédération Européenne de Pétanque (CEP).

The European Championships for Espoirs (Men)Espoirs (Women) and Men are held every odd-numbered year. The Men’s European Championship is now the qualifying competition for the Men’s World Championship. Every even-numbered year the CEP organises the European Championships for Women, Juniors and Veterans.

The 2017 qualification series for the CEP European Mens’ Triple and Veterans’ Championship can be downloaded by following this link.

If you would like to enter the Qualification Series, please complete the on-line registration, which can be accessed by following this link.

The 2016 Men and Women Singles European Championship was hosted by the Swedish Petanque Federation between 4th to 6th November 2016 in Halmstad, Sweden.

Tansy Mayfield
Derek Jones

This was the first CEP European Singles Championship and the WPA was proud that Tansy Mayfield (Caerleon RFC Pétanque Club) represented Wales. Tansy also represented Wales in the European Champion for Women (triples) in Bratislava.  Derek Jones (Pontyclun PC)  supported Tansy as her coach.

Both Tansy and Derek are two very experienced Pétanque players, who have represented Wales at previous European and World Championships.

The official website for the championship can be accessed by following this link.

All Teams representing Wales are entirely self-funded, and are extremely grateful to all those who so kindly provide sponsorship or make donations.  If you or your business is interested in sponsoring the Welsh Squad, then please contact Jean-Yves Robic the Director of Development.

2009FranceMenM FranksP BradshawN DobbinsC Royer
2010SloveniaWomenB DemayG FosterJ BraceS Foster
2011SwedenMenM FranksP BradshawN DobbinsI Bailey
2012DenmarkVeteransG AttfieldM BrownT Smith
2012BelgiumWomenJ BaileyG FosterT Mayfield
2013RomeMenM FranksP BradshawI BaileyJ-Y Robic
2014SwedenVeteransB VaughanJ CastonK TomczykP Beresford
2014TurkeyWomenJ RobertsJ BraceG Evans
2015BulgariaMenI BaileyS BraceP WestallP Bradshaw
2016BratislavaWomenB VaughanT MayfieldG Foster
2016MonacoVeteransB PughJ CastonP WestallR Hayes
2016SwedenSingles: WomenT Mayfield
2017FranceMenP BradshawI BaileyK TomczykP Westall
2017DenmarkVeteransP BeresfordL FieldB PughP Westall
2018FranceWomenB VaughanT MayfieldG FosterJ Dunne
2018ItalySingles: WomenG Foster
2018ItalySingles: MenM Howells

The European Championship in Precision Shooting is contested every year at either the men’s or women’s championship.

2008World ChampionshipD Jones
2009World ChampionshipJ Brace
2009World ChampionshipR Lee - Junior
2009European ChampionshipN Dobbins
2010World ChampionshipN Dobbins
2010European ChampionshipB Demay
2011World ChampionshipJ Brace
2011European ChampionshipN Dobbins
2012European ChampionshipT Mayfield
2013World ChampionshipG Evans
2013European ChampionshipI Bailey
2014European ChampionshipG Evans
2015European ChampionshipP Westall
2016European ChampionshipG Foster
2017European ChampionshipP Westall
2018European ChampionshipG Foster