Results: National Championship Singles: Men

The Monkstone PC hosted the 2021 NC Singles: Men in variable weather conditions to say the least.  Sixteen members came together to battle it out for the title of Singles Champion; however, this being the last championship of the calendar year, it was pleasing to see a good number taking part from the following clubs:

  • Caerleon RFC PC
  • Monkstone PC
  • Pontyclun PC
  • South Wales Bowls & Recreation Centre (SWBRC) Pétanque Section (formerly Penarth PC)
  • Wenvoe PC and
  • Wheatsheaf PC

The Men’s World Championship team were seeded, and it was good to see them finishing in the top four places after the ranking rounds. SWBRC had four players in the top 8, followed by Pontyclun with 2, Caerleon and the Monkstone with one apiece.

Players in the three qualifying rounds recorded no 13/0 wins, and all the games were played in good spirits, but as always, competitively fought.


The following clubs were represented in the Plate competition:

  • Caerleon RFC PC,
  • Pontyclun PC,
  • Monkstone PC,
  • SWBRC,
  • Wenvoe PC and
  • Wheatsheaf PC

The quarter-finals was a closely fought affair, where it was only decided in the last few ends who would go through to the semi-finals. By this time, the weather had changed, and the sun came out, allowing the playing surface to begin to dry out and ultimately acting several players out.

In a competitive match, the final was between Tom Mills (Monkstone PC) and David Sharratt (Wheatsheaf PC). Tom took a healthy lead against David and had the opportunity to close the game and take the title early. However, David began to fight back and slowly closed the gap to 12/12. With some consistent pointing and shooting, Tom was able to take the last point required to win the match and win the Plate Competition.

Congratulations to all our members taking part in the Plate Competition. 


The quarter-finals again was a closely fought round with the four members of the World Championship team pitched against experienced players. The result of the match between Kon Tomczyk (Caerleon RFC PC) and Ken Agius (SWBRC) was the exception. Ken took an early lead and looked to be coasting towards victory. However, Kon is an experienced player, and he fought back to bring the scores level, but a loose point left Ken the opportunity to close the game.

The semi-final draw had Ian Bailey (SWBRC) drawn against Roger Green (Monkstone) and Len Field (SWBRC) against Ken Agius (SWBRC).

Both semi-finals were closely fought, but consistent pointing and shooting took Ian Bailey and Ken Agius to the final.

The final was an all SWBRC affair, with Ian Bailey slowly gaining a good lead over Ken Agius. With Ian’s consistent point and shooting, he took the match and title 13/6. Congratulations to Ian Bailey for becoming the National Single’s Champion for 2021.

Congratulations to all our members taking part in the championship.

Finally, the WPA Executive would like to thank the Membership and Executive of the Monkstone PC for hosting the championship and allowing their facilities to be used to make the event run smoothly.

Tony Smith.