2018 Veteran’s Welsh National Championships – update

Six teams have now registered for the 2018 Veterans Championship, registration is close.

  1. Dave Cannon, Mike Jacques and Ken Aston
  2. Peter Westall, Len Fields and Bob Pugh
  3. Gail Brooksbank, Pat Daviss and Robert White
  4. Graham Attfield, Derek Lomas and Keith Merry
  5. Gez Smith, Harry Drake and Ian Ross
  6. Roger Griffin, Bernard Adshead and Vickie Adshead




2018 Veteran’s Welsh National Championships – update

Five teams have now registered for the 2018 Veterans Championship. If there’s another team that want to register please email your team details to: development [at] welshpetanque [dot] org [dot] uk

It would be nice to have an even number to avoid having to play byes.

  1. Dave Cannon, Mike Jacques and Ken Aston
  2. Peter Westall, Len Fields and Bob Pugh
  3. Gail Brooksbank, Pat Daviss and Robert White
  4. Graham Attfield, Derek Lomas and Keith Merry
  5. Gez Smith, Harry Drake and Ian Ross




2018 Veteran’s Welsh National Championships

2018 Veteran’s Welsh National Championships


This year’s National Veteran’s Championships (over 55) will be held at Pontyclun Petanque Club on

25 February 2018. Registration is 9.00 – 9.30

The winners and runners up will be invited to represent Wales at the Veteran’s Nations Cup held by the Dutch Petanque Federation (NJBB) at Schijindel South Holland on 13th – 14th – 15th April 2018


Please email your entry to:  development [at] welshpetanque [dot] org [dot] uk

 Pre Entry is required

 Closing date is: 18th Feb 2018

Payment can be made on the day

Cup For Clubs result

After the cold of two weeks ago the sun came out for the final weekend of the cup for clubs. A big thank you to Abergavenny PC for hosting the event.

Wenvoe and Caerleon battling for 1st place.

After the singles matches Caerleon and Wenvoe couldn’t be split with 3 games each. After the triples it was still equal now with 4 games each, so it came down to the doubles matches. Caerleon won the 1st doubles. but with Wenvoe winning the second it was game on. Who would blink 1st? In the final match Caerleon had a narrow 9-8 lead over Wenvoe until some solid pointing from Tansy Mayfield and some great shooting from John Price saw them extend their lead to 12-8. When Tansy then pointed her 1st boule 8 inches in front of the jack it was going to be hard for Mike Jacques and Ken Aston to come back. After pointing and shooting Mike took the point with his last boule only to see John shoot it out. This gave Caerleon victory 6 games to 5.

Congratulations to Caerleon on Winning the Cup for Clubs.



Cup for Clubs

Welsh Cup For Clubs 2018 ( After 2 Rounds )

Match Played Match Wins Match Loss Games Played Games Won Games Lost Pts               For Pts                                    Against Pts                 Diff Match Pts                   Overall
Wenvoe PC 2 2 0 22 17 5 260 167 93 6
Caerleon PC 2 2 0 22 14 8 239 187 52 6
Monkstone PC 2 0 2 22 7 15 186 246 -60 0
Wheatsheaf PC 2 0 2 22 6 16 168 253 -85 0

Welsh Cup for Clubs 2018

Sunday saw the start of Welsh Cup for Clubs Championships at Abergavenny Petanque Club

Let me start by thanking Mr Clive Howells (President), Mr David Bloor (Secretary) and the members of Abergavenny Petanque Club who had agreed to host the event, we arrived to find the piste in pristine condition raked and the scoreboards set out not only that but also a hot cup of tea or coffee ready and waiting for the players as they arrived again many thanks for your efforts and hard work.

This event normally would have taken place in October but due to unforeseen circumstances has had to be held in the cold January weather and although only 4 clubs had entered I have to thank all the players for their participation in this event in such inclement weather hopefully we will return to the September / October dates in the future

The draw was completed and the games got under way

Caerleon v Wheatsheaf

Wenvoe v Monkstone

The format to this event is 6 singles 2 triples and 3 doubles with at least one women playing in each category

Caerleon and the Wheatsheaf started off by drawing the singles 3 wins each the triples also produced 1 win to each club with only the 3 doubles to come it was still everything to play for however Caerleon forged a head and took the last 3 remaining games winning overall 7 – 4 and claiming 3 points for their match win

The other 1st round match saw Monkstone take on Wenvoe and although there were some tight games Wenvoe convincingly came out the winners with a 8 – 3 win claiming their match 3 points

The afternoon saw the start of round 2 Caerleon v Monkstone and Wenvoe v Wheatsheaf

Caerleon took the singles round 4 – 2 but drew the Triples, at 5 – 3 and with 3 doubles to play Monkstone were still in with a chance but unfortunately only won 1 of the doubles leading to Caerleon gaining their second match win with the same score line as their first game 7- 4

The other match of the day saw Wenvoe continue to dominate the match and although Wheatsheaf fought hard they could not stop Wenvoe taking 9 games out of the 11 on offer and claiming their second match win of the day

February 4th will see the final matches being played at Abergavenny with Caerleon and Wenvoe vying to take the 2018 Welsh Cup for Clubs Title


Details of the WPA Presentation Night

The WPA Executive is pleased to confirm the following details for the WPA Presentation Night.

Venue: Caerleon RFC

Date: Friday 12th January 2018.

Time: 19:30

 2017 Trophy Award’s
Presidents Cup Runners Up L FIELD – J CLARE – K EDWARDS
Presidents Cup Winners G FOSTER – K TOMCZYK – J Y ROBIC
Stuart Clarke Cup Runners Up L FIELD – J CLARE – K EDWARDS
Stuart Clarke Cup Winners J BAILEY – I BAILEY – J Y ROBIC
National Veteran’s  Runner Up G EVANS –  D MURPHY –  L FIELD
National Veteran’s Winners P BERESFORD, R HAYES, B PUGH, P WESTALL
National Shooting Ladies Runner Up J BRACE
National Shooting Ladies Winner G FOSTER
National Shooting Men’s Runner Up I BAILEY
National Shooting Men’s Winner P WESTALL
National Ladies Triples Runners Up G EVANS – J DUNN – B KENSETT
National Ladies Triples Winner G FOSTER – T MAYFIELD – B VAUGHAN
National Men’s Triples Runner Up P KENSETT – M WIGG – K NOTT
National Men’s Triples Winner P BRADSHAW – N KONGCHUNG – S BRACE – D MURPHY
National Mixed Doubles Runner Up C McCADDON – H MORRIS
National Mixed Doubles Winners G FOSTER – P WESTALL
National Doubles Ladies Runner Up G EVANS  J DUNN
National Doubles Ladies Winners T MAYFIELD – G FOSTER
National Doubles Men’s Runner Up P BRADSHAW – N KONGCUNG
National Doubles Men’s Winners I BAILEY – J Y ROBIC
National Singles Ladies Runner Up G EVANS
National Singles Ladies Winner G FOSTER
National Singles Men’s Runner Up R HARRIS
National Singles Men’s Winner P WESTALL
WPA 3rd Division Runner Up CAERLEON CELTS
WPA 3rd Division Winner MAESTEG
WPA 2nd Division Winner WENVOE RAIDERS
WPA 1st Division Runner Up ISCA ROMANS
National League Plate  Runners Up MAESTEG
National League Plate Winners ISCA ROMANS
National League Cup Runners Up WHEATSHEAF A
National  League Cup Winners PENARTH PENDRAGONS
National Welsh Club Cup WENVOE
Most Improved Player Of The Year TBC
Player Of The Year TBC

It would be great to see all Winners attend on the evening and all members are most welcome. Even if you won’t be presented on the night, why not attend for a social event? So, please add this event to your sparkly new 2018 calendars and spread the word.


Celtic Challenge 2018: Bushy Park, Dublin

The IPA has just informed the WPA of the choice of hotel to be used for those taking part in the Celtic Challenge next spring. Participants, and guests, can contact me or the Director of Development for booking details, etc. Full details will be sent to teams shortly.

Dan Murphy


1 2 3 11